Annapolis Valley Apple Blossom Festival

Last Saturday, a few friends and I headed down to the annual Apple Blossom Festival in Kentville. Over the past few years, I’ve travelled during the month of May, so I was never home to experience the event. I was, therefore, pretty excited that I could go this year and see what all the hype was about.

Honestly, my friends and I had no idea what to expect or what to do. From what I knew, the festival was a community/family day, complete with parades, vendors and various other events that took place earlier in the week. For others, the day is an excuse to party.

We arrived in Kentville around 12 p.m and waited about an hour and a half before the parade started. In the meantime, we explored the vendors – which were largely food trucks (I had onion rings, yum!). As a huge fan of parades, I was extremely impressed with the number of floats and community organizations. Later, my friends had a few beers (I was DD) and we shared a huge plate of nachos at Paddy’s Pub.

IMG_2434

Beer tent outside Paddy’s Pub

IMG_2439

The sun decided to shine for all of half an hour

IMG_2444.JPG

Beautiful henna by Halifax Henna

By 4 p.m., most of the vendors had packed up and were about to leave. We also decided to head out, but not without seeing the apple blossoms first!

IMG_2446

Rows of apple blossoms

IMG_2459IMG_2482IMG_2485

Have you ever been to the Apple Blossom Festival? What are some of your favourite things to do there?

 

Leave a Reply

